Linnets through on penalties

December 15, 2019


King's Lynn Town 2 Dover Athletic 2 (Lynn win 4-2 on pens)


The Linnets secured a place in Monday’s second round FA Trophy draw after an afternoon of drama and controversy  as higher  level Dover Athletic  were dispatched from the competition.


The Linnets lost influential captain Michael Clunan in the 18th minute due to a bad tackle from number 7 Nassim L'Ghoul.

Town thought that Michael Gash had given them the lead after 34 minutes as he raced clear of the Dover defence appealing for an offside decision. The referee initially gave the goal but, following consultations with his assistant , disallowed the effort as the scores remained level. A corner at the other end saw Steve Rigg hit a post  before Sam Kelly deservedly put Lynn ahead following excellent build up play between Ryan Hawkins and Aaron Jones.


Dover stepped up their game after the interval but it was the home team who should have scored again as Gash hit a post from close in after taking advantage of a defensive slip by the visitors. Ross Barrows had to be alert to deny Rigg but he and his fellow defenders were helpless to deny Jai Reason and Kevin Lokko two goals in the space of 6 minutes which saw the visitors take the lead. That looked to be it for the Linnets but with seconds of the 5 minutes of added time remaining Jones placed a delicious free kick past Yusuf Mersin to send The Walks wild and take the game to extra time.


Adam Marriott had a chance in either half of extra time but his first effort produced a wonderful save from Mersin and his second failed to test the keeper .


With Dover missing two spot kicks in the shoot out youngster Sonny Carey struck the winning kick after Marriott, Gash and Jones had all been successful with their efforts.


The win saw Town collect the £4500 prize money and a place in the second round. The tie will be played on Saturday January 11th meaning the scheduled league trip to Chester that day has been postponed and will be rearranged  in due course.


King’s Lynn Town: Street, Jones, Fox, Kelly, Barrows, McAuley, Clunan, Richards, Gash, Marriott, Hawkins. Subs: Carey, Payne, Jarvis, Bastock (GK)


Referee : Mr R Watkins.   Attendance: 776   

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Facebook App Icon © 2019 King's Lynn Town Football Club.

We Shop.png